Modeller > Work Types > Edit work type > Participant Roles > Click the arrow at the end of the row or Actions > Configure
Select the Role Permissions nav bar

Set the permission:
- No will not grant the permission to holders of this role
- Yes will grant the permission to holders of this role. Where this role is assigned to a team, all members of that team will be granted this permission.
- User only will grant the permission to holders of this role, but only where the role is assigned directly to a user. When the role is assigned to a team, the members of that team will not be granted this permission.
-
By phase allows you to specify a variation in the permission grant depending on what phase the work item is in. When you select By Phase the phases for that work type display - you can then set the permission for each phase.